Excel RTD Usage

1 Launch Tradex, go to Tools -> Options -> Excel RTD, check "Enable" box; if Windows Firewall prompts you whether to allow Tradex to open up ports, indicate "Yes". 

2 Launch Excel, File -> Options -> Add-Ins > Manage Excel Add-Ins, click "Go" -> "Browse" and navigate to Tradex installation folder -> Go to "RTD" subfolder -> Select "ExcelPriceRTD.xll" or "ExcelPriceRTD64.xll", click "OK"

Note: 
 1) If your Excel version is 32 bit, then you should use ExcelPriceRTD.xll; if it's 64 bit, then use ExcelPriceRTD64.xll.
    You can find out which version by following these steps: File -> Account -> About Excel, the popup indicates if it is 32 bit or 64 bit in the first line.
 2) You only need to do this once; the next time you open up Excel you don't need to add in this xll again.

3 Make sure Tradex is running, and then in any cell of an Excel sheet, type a formula in the format below,

  =tradex("Exchange","Contract","Maturity","Type") 

 1All parameters are case-sensitive.
 2Once you entered the formula, press "Enter"; the cell will automatically update from that point on; if you save your Excel sheet and reopen in future, the cells will immediately start updating without the need to re-enter the formula.
 3Example formula: 

  =tradex("LME","CA","3M","last") 

  =tradex("SGXOTC","FE","201512","bid")

Note that you need to use double quotes around the parameters as shown in the example above.

The list of supported "Types" are as follows:
bid, bidvol,
offer, offervol, 
last, lastvol, 
stl 
total

4 (Optional) By default Excel will refresh cells every 2 seconds; if you need the prices to be updated more rapidly, you can tweak the refresh interval using the method below:

  Open Excel, press ALT+F11 -> View -> Immediate Window, enter the commands below in the Immediate window opened (unit is in milliseconds),
  
  1. Set refresh interval, e.g. every 1 sec, 

  Application.RTD.ThrottleInterval=1000

  then press "Enter".
 
  2. View current refresh interval,

  ?Application.RTD.ThrottleInterval

  then press "Enter".

  Again you only need to set this once and Excel will remember your settings.





  